Home » Climbing » We’re A Business!

We’re A Business!

The last couple of days have been properly big here at The Circuit. Coming off a huge weekend in the Grampians I settled in to work from Melbourne with lots on the to do list.

I’ve had the chance to go over the initial transcripts for the Slovenians feature where we speak to the legendary Klemen Becan and his fiery young countryman Jernej Kruder. These two climbers are chalk and cheese and the interplay between them displays both their personalities and their love of climbing. Combined with the already transcribed Mina Markovic interview this gives us a great section of the magazine focusing of the Slovenian powerhouses and the culture that has produced so many World class climbers.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

I’ve also spent time on the Chris Webb Parsons interview, which at nearly 30 minutes has some absolute gold but does need some refinement. Bringing it down to 5 pages (give or take) is going to prove a real challenge! I still need to interview Tom Farrell on his return to Australia and James Kassay when I get the chance (he lasted a day in Melbourne before fleeing to the crisp winter climbing conditions in the Grampians!)

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

In other happenings The Circuit has passed a major milestone this week with confirmation that The Circuit Climbing Media is now a listed business in Australia. This will encompass the operations of both The Circuit World Cup and Performance Climbing Magazine and eddiefowkephotography.com which is the commercial platform for my photography work. Registering as a business may be a formality but it was an important one and I’d been waiting almost a month for the registration to come through. Needless to say I was chuffed to get it.

Business registration

The other cool undertaking this week was the production of The Circuit promotional stickers to spread the word. These are looking great and I can’t wait to get my hands on the finished product!

The Circuit Sticker

Moving forward it looks like poor weather in the Grampians this weekend which means I’ll be holed up in my tent crossing my fingers and hoping the rock dries out. On Saturday there’s a track work day to restore the tracks to some of the Southern Grampians areas as bush fires did massive damage to the area earlier this year. If you’re going to be there come say hi, I’ll be there in a blue CAC tee doing my best to repair the damage.

Lastly, the European Championships are on this weekend in Chamonix, check out the time and stream at http://www.ifsc-climbing.org/index.php/news/latest-news/item/321-european-championship-2013-lead-speed-chamonix and be sure to support The Circuit’s European correspondent Natalie Berry as she steps up to represent Great Britain in the Women’s open lead competition on Friday. (I don’t know what time she climbs but will update this when/if I find out)

I’ll be sitting in my tent on Friday night (Australian time), in the rain, surrounded by Roo’s and watching the stream on my laptop. What a world we live in…

Camping

Roo

Leave a Reply

